Innovative Learning Environments

Innovative Learning Environments

Our school is an Innovative Learning Environment (ILE).  We want to be designers of learning within an ecosystem that includes both the activity and the outcomes of the learning. 

Whakatauki: “Tangata ako ana i te whare, te turanga ki te marae, tae ana”  which translates to “a person who is taught at home (habitat) will stand collected on the Marae (school)”.   Each of our learning spaces is a ‘habitat’. A habitat is a space and a place for our people (learners) and learning. Each Habitat is furnished with the learners in mind and we believe that all the space belongs to the learners. We provide a range of different furniture to do this. For some learners, this may mean a traditional table and chair but for others, it may be a standing table, a stool, a kneeler table, a floor cushion or the floor itself. 

A place to:

  • Live, learn and grow.
  • Belong.
  • Make connections.
  • Be curious.
  • Be collaborative.
  • Build capabilities.

Each of our Habitats has 4 niches:

  • MakerSpace;  a creation zone, to learn either collaboratively or independently.
  • MySpace; a quiet, contemplative, reflective space to do independent learning.
  • MediaSpace;  a space to create content, practice, perform and explore.
  • MeetingSpace; a place to carry out learning conversations with others, focused-shared collaborative learning.

These four niches are purpose built but remain flexible so they may be used in other ways.

Our Habitat Names

We have chosen to give our Habitats names to further enhance our school and the connections both within our school and to the past, present and future.

In Aotearoa, there are eight different types of natural habitats. Each Learning Habitat will celebrate the two official languages of Aotearoa – Te Reo and NZSL

Alpine Maunga
Dryland Pākihi
Estuary Ngutuawa
Forest Ngahere
Freshwater Wai Māori
Marine Moana
Island Moutere
Beach Tāhuna
Wilderness Koraha
Camp Taupuni
Pond Hāroto
Creek Pūkaki
Community Hapori
Wetland Kūkūwai
Volcano(Ko Taku Reo) Puia

We require all of these different types of habitats to make Aotearoa and we need all of our Learning Habitats to make Ormiston Primary School.

Welcoming Many Cultures and Ethnicities

We welcome many different cultures and ethnicities into our school. We view this as a taonga and it represents the many tribes of the world gathered here at Ormiston Primary. Our logo displays the four koru of the circle which symbolise the four winds, Nga Hau E Wha.

We believe that it is important that we acknowledge the uniqueness of Aotearoa and work together with our learners and their whanau to share the knowledge and vital importance of our natural environment. 

We will utilise the different habitat names to work as a catalyst for educators and learners to ensure they have the knowledge and respect for the natural world.

We will use our 4Cs to help with this:

Curious about learning all the different types of Habitats
Capable increase the knowledge of the flora, fauna and landscapes of our country
Connected connect with different groups and organisations (for example, Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki & Department of Conservation) to help inform of the past, present and future to gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of our joint responsibility to the natural environment.
Collaborative work together to look after our Learning Habitats and the natural world we live in